Announcement

Collapse
1 of 2 < >

Official Podcast Now Posted!

The Official Navy SEAL & SWCC podcast, "The Only Easy Day Was Yesterday", is now posted in the Downloads section https://www.sealswcc.com/navy-seal-podcast.html. Hear from real, active duty Navy SEALs, SWCC, and key support staff from NSW as they talk training, requirements, ethos, and more. Hooyah!
2 of 2 < >

New Combat Side Stroke Guide

Improve your swim. Use the Naval Special Warfare Combat Side Stroke Guide.

Visit: http://www.sealswcc.com/navy-seal-co...oke-guide.html
See more
See less

Swim Training: Start here

Collapse
This topic is closed.
X
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Swim Training: Start here

Q. I am new to swimming and learning the CSS and I don't know where to start. What resources exist to learn the Combat Side Stroke?

A. See the official Combat Side Stroke Guide http://www.sealswcc.com/PDF/naval-sp...roke-guide.pdf and the instructional video (19:27 long): http://www.sealswcc.com/navy-seal-vi...l#.VNpKuvnF_00.

The video covers basic swim principles, the mechanics of the Combat Side Stroke (CSS), and practice drills to isolate and improve stroke components.

Q. I am in excellent cardiovascular shape, but when I try to swim I get exhausted very quickly. What am I doing wrong, and how can I fix this?

A. A swimmer in otherwise excellent physical condition experiencing this is most likely not fully exhaling and is operating off of sub-maximal volume with shallow, inefficient breaths. It's not a conditioning issue. You are just not getting enough fuel (O2) to the motor (your muscles).