24 Years old, SEAL Contract

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• 24 Years old, SEAL Contract

I am around 140 pounds, 5'7 tall, and 24 Years old.

Currently I can do around 30-40 pushups in 2 minutes.
    Around 40 sit ups in 2 minutes.
    I can do 3-4 pull ups from a dead hang.
    I can only run 1 mile in 12 minutes.
    I am not the best swimmer and I will start seriously practing during the Summer.
    No scuba experience.

Also, no felonies, misdemeanors, problems with the law, or substance abuse issues. I've drank alcohol before but I have never used any illegal substances. I have no major medical issues.

I have an associates degree but no bachelor's.

I know that it will be some time before I can even think about attempting the first PST test for the SEAL challenge contract. And I was thinking about getting a bachelor's before enlisting but I was concerned about the age cutoff at 29 and if I have enough time to get it done before then. Are certain majors better than others?

And for the asvab there are three required line scores plus the 50 MC requirement. Do I need all three line scores in order to qualify or do I just need one of them? Also, am I required to have a specific overall score on the asvab in addition to the line scores and the Mechanical Comprehension score? I've been studying like crazy and ignoring the sections I don't need.

Should I speak with a recruiter only after I'm in shape for the first PST? I usually read about a SEAL mentor or something that helps you train but is that only after you get far enough in the process? Or does the military have any references that I can use to plan my workouts and nutrition?

Also, any advice on preparing for the sleep deprivation part of BUD/S? And any advice on improving my willpower?

Any advice based on the information provided would be very helpful.

1. Are certain majors better than others