Year Group waiver

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Year Group waiver

I'm currently active duty looking to laterally covert to the SO rating. My year group is 2015 I think, I graduated from RTC in October of 2015. If my year group is actually 2015, is there any way I can qualify for a waiver because I'm so close to the 2016 year group?

For starters get in touch with you CCC and get your YG nailed down for sure.

I don't know if it's a 'waiver' per se, but from my knowledge it is possible to get picked up out of year group.

Good Criteria:
    - No NJPs
    - Above 3 average on evals
    - Leadership positions / Attractive collateral duties (ACFL, etc.)
    -Seriously incredible PST scores
    -Solid letters of Recommendation

This is not a set in stone standard, rather just criteria I've gathered through an acquaintance in the community. Most fleet convert packages are just better than optimum PST scores (9:30/75/75/15/9:30), so if you want a shot you're going to need to be even more attractive then them. I'm out of year group and my situation is 8:05/93/95/21/9:15, and the only other prior service candidate that I know that got picked up was 7:45/100+/100+/25/8:00 (this was before year groups were instituted.) So use 8-flats for a training goal (45-50 sec pool laps), 1:20 laps on a 400yd track. I would recommend Stew Smiths 12-weeks to buds, and do some weeks over and over.