Announcement

Collapse

Manual of the Medical Department

Questions about medical procedures?
Go to http://www.med.navy.mil/directives/P...lications.aspx, scroll down to MANMED Change 126 (pages 51-112) and download the document. The pertinent section is Article 15-105 Naval Special Warfare and Special Operations.
See more
See less

Eye Surgery Questions

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Eye Surgery Questions

Hi, I'm Michael and I'm a recent college grad who wants to become a SEAL. However, my vision is 20/500-400 in both eyes, so I'll need to get eye surgery. In my research and through talking with recruiters, I've found that my options (to the best of my knowledge) are either: 1. Get the surgery now, wait 4-6 months before I can be processed at MEPS or 2. Enlist now and get eye surgery while enlisted, then try out for BUD/S. I'm having trouble deciding which is the best option, so I have a few questions:
    -Is it better to get the eye surgery before by my own eye surgeon or by a military eye surgeon? Or does that matter?
    -My recruiter told me I could get eye surgery while enlisted, but I've also heard that's sort of a trick to get people to sign on sooner. Is this true?
    -I've also heard that the waitlist to get eye surgery while enlisted is pretty long and that the likelihood of getting into BUD/S while enlisted is lower than the chances of a civilian getting into BUD/S through the SEAL Challenge Program. Are both of these things true?

Thanks in advance! And sorry if I used any terms wrong or posted this in the wrong topic!

Aloha,