Announcement

Collapse

Manual of the Medical Department

Questions about medical procedures?
Go to http://www.med.navy.mil/directives/P...lications.aspx, scroll down to MANMED Change 126 (pages 51-112) and download the document. The pertinent section is Article 15-105 Naval Special Warfare and Special Operations.
See more
See less

Stuck in waiting

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Stuck in waiting

Maybe someone in a similar situation that got a contract can help me out. Now at age 25 I graduated with a Bachelors degree in mid December 2018. I immediately went to my recruiter and started my process of hopefully getting a SEAL contract. Unfortunately for me I had a rough past as far as medical goes.

ankle implants for flat feet 12 years ago
    gynocomastea surgery 4 years ago
    meniscus repair 2 years ago
    brachial cyst removal(neck) 10 months ago

All documents pertaining to all of my surgeries were submitted and I waited for about a month. My recruiter finally told me that my records had to go up a department to N3M which I now know means MEPS said it was a no go for me. About two weeks after that my recruiter said that N3M wanted a pathology report for a cyst that I had mentioned in my initial documents but didn't have any paper work for. (16 years ago)

I'm hoping it's a good thing that was all they asked for becuase they didn't mention my knee or ankles which I was worried about. It's been a few weeks since then and I check in weekly with my recruiter but no new news. Although I cannot train with the SEAL mentor in my area I got his contact info and he said he would try to talk to MEPS to see if he could get me in for one or two training sessions, and to see what was going on. No word from either him or my recruiter yet.

Anyone else have a bunch of medical waivers that needed approval and were granted? The mentor and my recruiter thought even though I have had a lot of surgeries that they weren't that big of a deal.

Howdy,