Mental Weakness

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Mental Weakness

My name is Matt and i have been working out nonstop for the past 10 months. I have always been an athletic kid. Somedays when i go to the gym i really do not want to. I always end up going even though i don't want too but i was wondering if im mentally weak for not wanting to go to the gym

Re: Mental Weakness

This happens to me too, as long as you don't quit and go and do your best then in my opinion you are not mentally weak because you understand that even though you are unmotivated, tired or just laxy you understand that this is what needs to be done in order to be the man you want to be.

Comment

Thanks that helps! does anyone else have any other opinions about this topic or any other problems like this

Comment

You're not mentally weak for not wanting to go to the gym; there's a difference between not being gung ho about working out and being mentally weak. If you don't want to go and then you do, that's more of a sign of mental drive than anything else.

Comment

Sounds like a motivation problem to me. I commend your commitment, but also consider adding variety or switching up your workouts a little. Are you doing the same routine every time? Is there a way to do the same exercises ina different order? With new twists? There is some research to suggest that switching up your workouts actually improves muscle development. Are you working out with a motivating partner or group of like-minded PT fanatics? Hate to say it, but sometimes the key to motivation for me is NEW GEAR! Get yourself a t-shirt that ONLY looks good when you're PT'ing hard!

P.S. One more thing to consider, make sure you have set explicit written goals for yourself, are tracking your progress, and giving yourself positive recognition and reward for reaching your goals when it happens.
          Tom Delaney
          St. Paul, Minnesota, USA

Comment