So you wanna be a boat guy?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• So you wanna be a boat guy?

im a swcc veteran, graduated class 50. If you have any questions pertaining to being a boat guy, fire away. I enjoyed my time at Boat team 22 but got injured over seas and decided to get out of the service. I will help in any way I can.

Re: So you wanna be a boat guy?

Fantastic! I ship to basic in a littler over a month and I'm just trying to fine tune myself until then. My PST numbers are very competitive according to the PST calculator so now I'm trying to shift my focus towards longer distance running and swimming. Also, building confidence in the water. I have a couple questions about the pool work in BCT. Are students instructed and taught the proper way to complete evolutions like buddy tows and brick treads or should a candidate arrive self taught. Training alone has made it difficult/impossible for me to practice buddy tows and I hear and saw (Surviving the Cut) how many people had trouble with this evolution. Along with water work I was wondering how I could prepare for the O-Course. Looks like it hurts and I'm wondering if there are any particular muscle groups to work on throughout the next month to give myself and edge. I really appreciate any help on these broad questions.

Nick

Comment

It helps to practice fetching bricks off the bottom of the pool. Naturally, you want someone nearby that's qualified to fetch YOU if there are any issues. Otherwise, the more time you spend in the pool, the better. You will be taught how to do all evolutions at BCT. Instructors don't expect you to know them upon arrival.
      Regarding the O course, most guys underestimate how much of a toll the various obstacles exert on certain muscle groups. Make sure your core is rock solid and work on your forearms.
      Navy SEAL & SWCC Scout Team