NSW/NSO Officer After SWCC?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• NSW/NSO Officer After SWCC?

I want to be a SWCC. I also want to be an officer. I'm willing to enlist in the Navy to be a SWCC. After my SWCC contract is up, would it be possible to get a commission and be an officer in another Special Warfare program (EOD or SEAL)?

I'm currently a Civil Service Mariner with Military Sealift Command. I have a bachelor of science in Marine Engineering and a Third Assistant Engineer license. I need 6 more months of sea time before I can upgrade my license, which I want to do before taking the SWCC Challenge.

Re: NSW/NSO Officer After SWCC?

If you want to be a SEAL officer you have to make it through BUD/s, if you want to be an EOD officer you have to make it through EOD training. If you want to be a SWCC now, trying to become a SWCC Officer would seem to be the logical path. But it would be possible to crossrate, probably requiring a few waivers.

Comment

There is no such thing as a SWCC officer.

Comment

Oh you're right, my apologies for putting out inaccurate information.

From Mr. Williams
        "There is a small number of SWCC warrant officers. They are selected from the senior enlisted ranks. Other than that, there are no SWCC officers, only SEAL officers in charge of SWCC units."

So if you want to lead a SWCC boat crew you have to go through BUD/s or get chosen as a warrant officer.

Comment