Learning another language advice

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Learning another language advice

I graduated undergrad with a 3.8+ overall and 3.9+ major GPA in meteorology with a minor in math. I originally went to graduate school but knew at this point it wasn't what I wanted to do and that my dreams of serving my country were what I needed to pursue.

I have to wait 11 months to enlist due to being misdiagnosed and taking some meds so I decided in addition to training by body I would refresh my Spanish (fluent but haven't used it in a while) and also learn another language. I don't believe I will be fluent in a year but could develop the ability to communicate and eventually become fluent. Currently I am leaning towards Farsi which is the language spoken in much or Iran and other parts other middle eastern countries such as Afghanistan. Any input on which language I should learn that would most benefit the Navy?

Re: Learning another language advice

You should learn Korean, cause that's where we're going next (kidding).

Scott Williams made a post on here about this topic and he listed many major world languages as well as most middle eastern ones - Mandarin, Spanish, French, Farsi, Arabic, Turkish I think was on there, etc. I believe the Navy website has a section about enlistment bonuses and what languages qualify you for a higher bonus (aka - languages the Navy can use most). Whatever you pick, believe that the Navy will try to put you where you skilled (if you know Arabic, then middle east emphasis. Spanish, South America and countries south of Mexico.)

Comment

Originally posted by tfranc View Post
      Whatever you pick, believe that the Navy will try to put you where you skilled (if you know Arabic, then middle east emphasis. Spanish, South America and countries south of Mexico.)