Project Management and Training

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Project Management and Training

A brief introduction... I'm a college student finishing up my education in Information Systems, and one of my final classes is on Project Management. After the first lecture, I can't help but correlate Project Management concepts with training for entering the NSW pipeline. I am not a TG by any means. I repeat am NOT a TG. This is just some insight from my personal experience training.

"In 1995, Standish Group study (CHAOS Report) finds that 16.2% of IT projects are successful. 31% get cancelled before completing, costing $81 billion in U.S. alone. 2004, PWC study of 200 companies from 30 different countries found that over half of all projects fail."

Only 16.2% of projects successful despite the highly educated, carefully selected individuals behind the planning and development process (sound familiar?). Where it gets interesting is why those projects fail:

- Lack of qualified employees/professionals
    - No vision; Not many people can see where a company needs to be, and where it needs to go
    - Scope not defined and signed-off - working towards some kind of moving target
    - Requirements are not determined - don't know exactly what it is your client wants you to develop
    - Employees don't want the responsibility - employees don't want to have their laptop next to them all hours of the night, called in at any time of the day or night to make sure the project comes in on time
    - Low funding or no funding - cannot get the project off the ground, or can't keep it off the ground
    - Users are not involved in the process - they might go as far as sabotaging what you are trying to do
    - Lack of momentum - something stalls the project and makes it hard to get back on track